Speeding towards Spring

The end of January rushed up unbelievably fast, and we were well into February before I could blink. For one of my schools I only have one day left before my contract finishes.

Throughout January, it grew steadily colder. It was cold in a numbing, dry way – different from the wet cold of the U.K. I actually quite liked it…apart from when I couldn’t feel my fingers.

It was so cold in fact, that the school swimming pools that were so tempting in summer were covered over in a thick layer of ice (considerably less tempting).

Already, as Spring creeps up on us, the ice has finally thawed and the cold is balanced by beautiful crisp sunny days. I am so excited that soon I will finally see the sakura in full blossom.

Leave a Reply

