Make the Next One Happy

I’ve been told by my friend and fellow ALT, Nelson, that my titles are too depressing and I should ‘make the next one happy’. Well, there you go.

So, my placement. The whole painful process went something like this:

A couple of weeks before the flight – Placement: Tokai, Nagoya;
A week before the flight – Tokai contract fell through, possibly Osaka (over-excitement because Osaka);
A few days before the flight – Not Osaka. Told “Don’t worry” (?????);
First two days of training – Placement: Ogaki, junior high school and elementary school;
Third day of training…

When we came in for the third day we were taken individually to speak with the manager. At this point we were told that the area Tom was assigned to had decided that they wanted a female teacher.

Change number gazillion: Placed in Seto Ward, teaching elementary school.

So yeah, all pretty stressful, but being a very cool, calm and collected Brit I definitely didn’t get completely fed-up and try to quit so I could go and work at an eikaiwa (language school) instead… Definitely not… The big changes I posted about a while ago were in relation to this. (I was very pissed off, but it was all sorted out in the end!)

I’m working in five elementary schools, and start at a sixth (special needs) school come September. I can’t name the schools for confidentiality reasons, but will nickname them (with a mixture of numbers and letters because I want to watch the world burn):

School A
School B
These two are the biggest schools I work at and the ones I am at most frequently.

Mountain School 1
Mountain School 2
I have these two on the same day and have to get a taxi from the station, between them, and back to the station. (this was originally a driving position, but as I don’t have a license… ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Mountain School 3
I have to get a taxi to this one too, but I only have it once a fortnight.

So now you all know what I’m teaching/where I’m teaching! And it took me less than two months! Not bad.

Leave a Reply

